GO WILD! LIVES ON: WILL YOU HELP?

Swamp Gobbing in Cook Forest with Bob D. Beagle
Swamp Gobbing in Cook Forest with Bob D. Beagle

On August 22 2009, Press Ganger Undead Dan will be running a GO WILD! tourament in York, PA at Comic Store West. Details are listed here. This is awsome. It’s keeping the idea behind GO WILD! alive.

Back in 2008, the tv and radio news started to chatter about funding and donations running low in the local area around DuBois, PA. I watched as two local no kill shelters shut down due to expenses and lack of funding. Then I heard on the radio that the Clearfield County SPCA was in trouble too. They were asking for donations because they had volunteered to take on the animals from the other two no kill shelters in order to stop the animals from being sent to facilities that terminate animals. I had just got done buying my Swamp Gobber shirt to help out with the charity collection going on after the big storms that affected so many people. And FOODMACHINE and Thrall Harvest is an event that everyone in the Privateer Press circles knows about. What if I could design some kind of PETFOODMACHINE event that would help collect donations for the Clearfield County SPCA? That might do a little to help. Besides, doing nothing was unacceptable. I started plotting. I contacted the guys that made FOODMACHINE and they gave me a green light to use their basic rules and idea to design an event that would be fun and hopefully aid the SPCA.

Watch this slideshow.

Our dog, Bob D. Beagle, is awesome. He’s about 9 years old, and the best dog I have ever met. He’s got a big personality. I first met Bob at Indiana SPCA. He was seized from his owner due to abuse. His hip had been broken. The previous owner was a hunter who raised hunting dogs. Bob is a lover, not a fighter. He rarely barks, and isn’t a good hunter. He was beaten and mistreated because he wouldn’t hunt. A final beating left the skinny Beagle with a broken hip. When the owner got the balls to take Bob to the vet, the real story came out. And that’s when Bob and I met. He’s been with us ever since, and our lives are forever changed. He’s an awesome dog. And hopefully you’ll get to meet him at TempleCon 2010 since Crowne Plaza allows pets with a security deposit.

Bob the Beagle

I talked to the local crew, and to Privateer Press. Then I called the CCSPCA and set up a visit to talk to them about trying to help them but running PETFOODMACHINE. When I got there, I was saddened. There were abused, unwanted, and abandoned pets crammed into every safe space available. I spent about a hour and a half just walking around with the SPCA staff meeting the different animals and hearing their stories. I started to explain how I wasn’t sure if my charity event would make any impact at all, but I was willing to try. I suggested collecting pet food to donate, but they didn’t ned that at all. As it turns out, Wal-Mart donates pet food to the SPCA by contract. So I was at a loss. I asked what I could to to help.

They explained that they needed supplies. They needed basic stuff like newspapers (to line cages), towels for the animals, paper towels, cleaning supplies, garden hoses and nozzles, and other items. They said that if they could get people to donate supplies, they could use more of the organization’s money to provide services for pets and their soon-to-be owners. And so I had them write out a list of the top supplies they needed as donations, and GO WILD! was born.

The original post for the event is here. Information and pictures from the event can be located here on the old blog and here on photobucket.

I started posting about the idea seeking help within the Press Gang. Although the Gang was supportive, it didn’t generate much help. Many Press Gangers said it was a good idea, but I didn’t get many suggestions or help in making things work. Until Hugh Browne got involved. Thank goodness for Hugh. He not only helped to hammer out some of the ideas for the rules but he drove all the way from New England to help me run the event. Best of all, he gathered donations from his local crew out there and brought all of the stuff down to the event. That was awesome!

We came up with the name GO WILD! simply because it was a HORDES only event at that time. Players were encouraged to bring listed donation items in order to earn points towards winning a copy of the Limited Edition Apotheosis book kindly donated as prize support by Privateer Press. Each item on the list had been assigned a point value determined buy its general value to buy at a store. The higher something cost, the more points it was worth. Also, a lot of other businesses and online stores offered free prizes and gift certificates to give out as prizes for the event. Even the DuBois JoAnn Fabrics got involved giving us a cut rate on the 4×4 mats that we needed to properly facilitate the event. During the event, cheating was encouraged just like in FOODMACHINE and THRALL HARVEST. Players could purchase tokens that were $1 each. Each token could be used to cheat in some approved manner, like re-rolling a dice, for example. The signature cheat was to use an assigned amount of tokens to make your opponent’s Warbeasts GO WILD for one turn. (Do this at your own risk!) We also sold T-Shirts (If you want one, we still have some for $10 each and I will donate the money to the CCSPCA) and pirate cupcakes to help gather more money for the event. (We went out and bought more supplies from the list with the money that we gathered from these items.) In the end, I had my Chevy Blazer so full of donations that I could hardly fit into it. Plus, we had about $135 extra dollars to donate.

The staff at the CCSPCA went crazy. They were so happy. I had a lot of fun that day unloading supplies and handing over the check. They were so happy that they pulled up the Privateer Press website, and asked how they could call to thank the company for the help. I gave the praise to Privateer Press for helping their volunteers organize great events like this one.

If you want to help out and organize your own GO WILD! in your area … do it. Get in contact with me on the Privateer Press forums. I will email you the rules, and everything that you need to get it going. It’s worth it, man. Make a difference.

Quixotic: Thumbs up!
Quixotic: Thumbs up!

Keep rollin’ sixes.

3 thoughts on “GO WILD! LIVES ON: WILL YOU HELP?

  1. Gotta say, this is awesome. Just last week we took in a 4 mth old kitty from the shelter. It could be argued that the abuse continues since my son decided his name should be Yo-Yo, but aside from any psychological scars associated with a wierd name, the cat seems quite happy.

    I support and/or endorse this initiative.

    Like

KEEP ROLLIN' SIXES!

