GAMES, GAMES, AND MORE GAMES

 

 

I’ve been playing games for a long time. My first brush with gaming was with the D&D Basic Set which I picked up at Waldenbooks in 1986. This led into various other role-playing games outside of D&D, including Paranoia, Twilight 2000, Shadowrun, RIFTS, Marvel Super Heroes,  Star Wars, and Talislanta to name only a few. I wish that I could tell you that I have all of these awesome books in my possession, but alas I do not. When I went off to college, I packed them away into a bin in my rooms next to my beloved comic books. The comic books survived, however the role-playing books were burned by my mother in a fit of religious fervor after a preacher ranted about D&D being evil.

But for now I thought I would make a brief list of all the games that I am currently playing. Let’s focus on the top five for now.

I really enjoy playing WARMACHINE. I started out playing Cygnar but has expanded to many different armies. However, at this point I think that the game has move past me. I do not own any of the big models like the Battle Engines or Colossals. And although I would love to buy a couple of Storm Striders and a Stormwall right now, I have very limited funds because I’m enjoying spending money on my 6 month old son, Alexander.  My realization is that without buying these large and expensive models, my time of WARMACHINE may be done. I’m not sure if I can pull off a game without rhe addition of these new model types. I think it would be like trying to play without Warjacks in MK I WARMACHINE. I liked WARMACHINE best when it was a small skirmish game, but it’s expanded in big ways in the last few years following in the footsteps of Games Workshop.

I also play HORDES, and choose to use Circle of Orboros. I like playing HORDES in smaller games. I find that the small games really reflect the nitty gritty mechanics of HORDES. Again, I am wondering if my time with HORDES is at an end because I don’t really have plans to buy any of the larger models for my HORDES army although I do abmit that both models are pretty awesome. I just can’t justify spending the money for one model when I should be buying five containers of baby formula for my son.

 

I really like Malifaux. Again, this is a smaller skirmish game. It reminds me of Mordheim, and I believe that’s why it drew my attention at first. I like the fact that the game uses cards instead of dice. The models are prett awesome, and it’s not a big buy in to start playing. Another great aspect is that you can play a game with more than 2 people at once.

Heroscape is a fun game, and it’s too bad that Wizards of the Coast felt that they needed to kill it. The concept of the gameboard being made from pieces seemed brilliant at the time, and I enjoyed the wide range of wild characters available to play. The addition of the Marvel Heroscape set was the thing that got me into buying the game itself. I still enjoy playing Heroscape, and really enjoy the D&D expansion that was put out before all of us Heroscapers got stabbed in the back. Long live the ‘scape.

 

And lastly, we have Secrets of the Third Reich. This is the game that I’ve been playing the most lately. The game is excellent for me because it sums up everything that I really like: Weird War Tales, Zombies, and World War II. The fact that the game has fairly simple combat rules, and allows you to customize your own characters for use within the game is pretty awesome. The only downside is that it is the brainchild of a group of guys who started the game as a hobby not a business. This is a double-edged sword.
That’s all for now. There are plenty of other games that I enjoy but I don’t have the time to blog about them all today.

Until next time, Keep Rollin’ Sixes!

 

KEEP ROLLIN' SIXES!

