A: A is for “ANGELS”


I’m participating in the A-Z April Blogging Challenge and my theme of choice is Dungeons & Dragons.


Zaphkiel, the Watcher

A is for ANGELS

Dungeons & Dragons is a role-playing game that usually pits Good against Evil, with the forces of Neutrality caught in the middle. The villians are usually a big focus of the games because the heroes tend to be the playing characters themselves. So a lot of the focus tends to go to the monsters, beasties, dragons, and demons who harry the footsteps of the playing characters each session. And if demons are the greatest bad guys in the game, then angels are the tip-top good guys opposing the forces of Evil.

Angels are beings from the Upper Planes, or the Heavens, who are sometimes called “Celestials.” These beings are governed by the higher powers who strive to support the forces of Good against the powers of Evil. In general, angels have the same basic “racial” abilities. They all can see in the dark using Darkvision, are resistant to poison and acid, and are immune to petrification, cold, and electricity.  They have a righteous warding field that protects them from evil creatures, effects like fear or charm caused by those creatures, and menaces enemies by reducing their abilities.  They can Teleport at will, and can speak with any creature that uses a language. And in a moment of dire need, an angel can send out a distress signal that other Good creatures can sense, allowing them to receive aid if needed.

Angels are the most common form of servant to the Good deities found throughout the Upper Outer Planes. They coexist peacefully with the Archons, Guardinals, and Eladrin while doing the bidding of the gods throughout the multiverse. Angels rarely take a direct role in the affairs of mortal beings unless their is some dire situation happening on the Material Plane requiring intervention. And although demons and devils can be summoned to the Material Plane, angels cannot. They travel to the Prime by the power of their ruling god or goddess to carry out a task or purpose. To deal directly with an angel is to receive the direct intervention of a deity.

Metranon, the Lorekeeper
Metranon, the Lorekeeper

There are different types of angels, all assigned varying tasks by their Celestial Masters. Types include, but are not limited to: Aasimar, Planetars, and Solars. First,  Aasimar (sometimes called Devas) are large humans (7.5 feet tall)  with some sign of their godly ancestors, such as golden eyes, silver hair, feathers, and are typically free of human flaws. The are not afraid to enter mêlée combat. It takes a fierce joy in bashing evil foes with its powerful +3 heavy mace of disruption. Next, a Planetar is even bigger and scarier. They are nearly 9 feet tall and weighs about 500 pounds. Despite having a vast array of mystical powers, Planetars are likely to wade into mêlée with their +3 greatsword. They particularly enjoy fighting fiends. Lastly, we have the bad-ass Solars. A Solar has a deep and commanding voice, and stands about 9 feet tall. It weighs about 500 pounds. they can regenerate, and are puissant champions of good. Only the most powerful fiends approach their power. Even more fearsome than their +5 dancing greatsword are their +2 composite longbow that create any slaying arrow when drawn.

The angels are headed by a The Celestial Hebdomad. These are uniquely powerful beings who act as counterparts to Demon Princes and Archdevils. The Hebdomad is made of of the following mighty beings:

  • Barachiel, the Messenger – Ruler of Lunia, the bottom layer of Celestia, also known as the Silver Heaven.
  • Domiel, the Mercy-Bringer – Ruler of the Golden Heaven of Mercuria, the second layer of Celestia.
  • Erathaol, the Seer – Ruler of Venya, the Pearly Heaven, the third layer of Celestia.
  • Pistis Sophia, the Ascetic – Ruler of Solania, the Crystal Heaven, the fourth layer of Celestia.
  • Raziel, the Crusader – Ruler of Mertion, the Platinum Heaven, the fifth layer of Celestia.
  • Sealtiel, the Defender  – Ruler of Jovar, the Glittering Heaven, the sixth layer of Celestia.
  • Zaphkiel, the Watcher  – Ruler of the Illuminated Heaven of Chronias, the seventh layer of Celestia.

Angels are not the only good guys out there, but when it comes to dealing with a god or criss-crossing the Planes of Existence, angels are the ultimate good guys. So the next time you’re playing some Dungeons & Dragons, and your cleric or paladin kneels to pray on the field of battle – don’t be shocked if one of these guys shows up to offer a little help.  And make sure to tread carefully … you don’t want to end up on the wrong side of these guys.

That’s all for now. The next A-Z post will be up tomorrow around 7:07 AM EST.

Until then, keep rollin’ sixes!


3 thoughts on “A: A is for “ANGELS”

  1. Good morning!

    My son introduced me to D&D about 30 year ago. I still have some little lead figures from those days. A Paladin and a Thief were two of my main characters. I know that the game has changed so much since its “early days.”

    Over this past weekend, our grandchildren were with us. And our grandson (aged 9) had me playing a role-playig game. The apple, they say, falls not far from the tree.

    Blessings and Bear hugs.


  2. Pingback: AssassinDroid51


Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.